Pray For Your Man

Posted on Updated on

Marriage Moments

This series of posts are new additions to this developing blog. It will feature posts that are designed to be filled with encouragement for your marriages, and a little insight into my own.  When some see the title ‘Joyfully Submitted’, they presume that a lifestyle of submission has always been joyful. Let me just say that it hasn’t.  It has taken a long time for me to ‘get it’ and we experienced some not so peaceful ‘marriage moments’ in the process.  During those times, I expressed myself best through writing, whether in one of my many journals, or through a poem. It is my hope that through the “Marriage Moments” posts we will grow in our love for God and our Husbands, and joyfully embrace living a life submitted to both!

The following is a poem that was written a couple of weeks before my fifth wedding anniversary! Looking back, it seems like a lifetime ago, and a few months ago at the same time!  Let’s just say this poem had not been my standard response prior to that, nor has it been my standard first response since. But over the years, and as I have matured, praying for my man has become a way of life for me, and a great weapon in this Spiritual War that we are all engaged in! I have learned the importance of prayer, as well as seen the power of this discipline in the lives of believers and their marriages. I have also seen the destruction, the devastation, and the demise of marriages that were not heavily covered in prayer.  If you are not praying for your husband now, know that I go before God to pray for you. I pray that God will fill all of our hearts as wives with an overwhelmingly heavy burden to start. Praying for our men is one of the ways we are able to fulfill Gods purpose for us in marriage, and if we are not praying, we must ask ourselves “How important is fulfilling God’s purpose for me in marriage?”

“And the LORD God caused a deep sleep to fall upon Adam, and he slept: and he took one of his ribs, and closed up the flesh instead thereof; And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto the man.And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man. Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh. And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.”  (Genesis 2:21-25)

Who better to pray for your husband than you??? Who knows the sound of his footsteps when he comes home from work, or as he walks through the house better than you?  Who else can get close enough to him to listen to his heartbeat as he sleeps other than you? … Who can tell what he’s feeling or what he’s thinking by the sounds that he makes better than you?  Who knows his childhood dreams…and adult disappontments…better than you? Who knows that he desires to be a better husband and a better father… and a better provider…better than you?  Who knows that he struggles with the world’s expectations, and the pressure to provide the American dream better than you?  Who knows that he fights the world’s view of him as the ultimate failure because he did not finish, or even go to college, and that he battles daily to see himself as a son of the King of Kings, and a joint heir with Christ, better than you? Who else can he truly be himself  with, without fear of being judged or condemned for his ‘nakedness’ better than you?  Who is there on this earth that knows how and what to pray for your man better than you?  And the obvious answer; no one better than you.

Pray For Your Man

When you don’t understand

Pray for your man

When things are going wrong

Resist the urge to stare at him for too long

Learn to be silent

And to wait on the Lord

He will make sure

That you remain with one accord

When he’s quiet and withdrawn

Pray for your man

As you pray for your man

You will learn to better understand the moods of your man

When his heart aches with self-disappointment

Pray for your man

As you pray for your man

You will learn to hold the hand of your man

When he retreats from your loud tone

Pray for your man 

And as you pray for your man you will learn to speak softly to your man

When he is withdrawn and unsure

Pray for your man

As you pray for your man 

You will begin to see Christ-likeness emerge from your man

Pray for your man, Pray for your man

Do not yell and fuss and bring out the flames of Hell in your man

Pray for your man, Pray for your man

And whatever else you do, believe God’s Word is true

Because while you invest your time praying for your man

That man is also learning to pray for you.

signed,

(Not quite joyfully submitted when I wrote this but was  working on it)

Selena M. White

written July 23,1999

12:56am

3 thoughts on “Pray For Your Man

    scentsableliving said:
    January 25, 2012 at 4:13 am

    Truly blessed to have you in my life 😀 Thank you for this post, after reading another article I could feel the enemy trying to stir up confusion in my mind, just slinging his arrows of lies that I had to fight off as each one came! Your posts are always a blessing and so are you ♥

    Like

    Benjamin Pennington said:
    January 25, 2012 at 4:22 am

    Great post. It is absolutely essential that a wife pray for her husband. If she doesn’t do it, the likelihood of someone else doing it is pretty slim. My wife knows my worst side better than anyone else. I hope she is praying that God overcome my heart’s evil, anger and sorrow to make me the man my wife needs and desires.

    Like

    Edith Reyes said:
    March 1, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Awesome post! Although I am not marrried at this time, and God knows my heart and this future Ministry I desire……I yet pray for my husband, for God knows who he is although not manifested to me. Absorbing all good things that give God glory, praise, joy and teach me to be what He sees in me. Awesome woman of God, thank you for your heart expressions. e’

    Like

Leave a Reply

