Blessings of Being Still

Posted on

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

Just a thought on a Saturday night as the house quiets down, and we begin to prepare our hearts for worship and service tomorrow morning.  After the first day of what will prove to be an extremely busy weekend, I find myself reminding myself of the blessings found in stillness…in just sitting and being quiet.  It is very easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of life. There’s always somewhere to go, something to do, or someone to call.  My life consists, largely, of homeschooling my four children ages 11-16, continually learning how to love and serve my husband better, serving the Lord and the people of God in various ways, and helping to run our family business.  If I’m not careful, what may sound very basic and simple on paper, can easily evolve and become extremely, overwhelmingly, time and energy-consuming… especially when I attempt to do it all in my own strength.  In all that I have been blessed to learn about the Lord over the past 22 years, one thing continues to stand out to me: God is FAITHFUL!!! He allows crazy, hectic, overwhelming days to come around again and again, so that I am repeatedly reminded of my desperate need to always lean and depend on Him.  I don’t need to just be still on some days, or just some time. I need to be still everyday and all of the time.  And not just be still for stillness sake, but because it’s when I am still that I can hear Him speak to my heart.  It’s when I am still that I can sense His presence and receive encouragement.  It’s when I am still that the Holy Spirit can strengthen me and fill my heart with joy for the journey ahead.  It’s when I am still, that my heart can open wide and receive Him again as Savior…as Lord.  It’s when I am still that I remember that HE is God…and not me.  He’s in control, not me.  Selah…What about you? Do you find yourself trying to do it ‘all’ in your own strength?  In all of your busyness, do you forget that He’s God? Take some time today to just be…..still.  Even if chaos is all around, take a moment (or two) to find a quiet place (or create one), sit back as if you’re leaning in His arms…breathe in his presence and just know….just know that He is God…..

Leave a Reply

