Almost Forgotten…

Posted on Updated on

My grandmother, Mary Elizabeth Solomon

As I walked to the car after visiting my grandmother in a nursing home today, I couldn’t seem to hold back the tears.  I never thought there would be a time when she barely knew who I was.  I spent a lot of time with her when I was a little girl.  She is greatly responsible for the Word of God being sown into my heart when I was young.  She challenged me upon every visit, I if I left not knowing, I returned having studied the Word and ready for the next round.  Sometimes there were tears, but I always came back.  She was never cruel, but she somehow knew that I hated not knowing…stuff.  She took that knowledge and pushed me deeper and deeper into the pages of scripture, and as a young girl, I took up residence there! Everyone needs a grandmother like Mary Elizabeth Solomon! And though I enjoyed all of the time I spent with her as a young girl, as I got older and life got busier, I spent time with her less and less.  I have thought about her often, but my time didn’t show it…and today, my heart was broken and filled with regret.  Time is something we can’t get back…and today I realized that I was almost forgotten….and it broke my heart.  It wasn’t as hurtful that she got my kids and my sisters kids confused with eachother, but it broke my heart that she had almost forgotten…me.  Prior to the recent stroke that she’d suffered we had begun to notice the signs of dementia setting in.  But after the stroke, her rate of mental deterioration was expedited.  She was such an integral part of my childhood….and I grew up and….almost forgot.  She had a smile that spread across her face and laughter that echoed and was contagious.  She loved the color pink, and she loved music and dancing.  She loved being surrounded by her children and her grandchildren.  But we grew up, and moved on…and got busy with our own lives and activities and families…but she was supposed to be a part of that family…and today I felt what she must have felt for years.  I now know what it feels like to be almost forgotten…to have someone you love barely remember your name.  If you have grandparents or parents who are still living, spend as much time with them as you possibly can.  Tomorrow isn’t promised for any of us, and missed time is something you can’t get back.

My grandmother and I... 3 years ago

One thought on “Almost Forgotten…

    lipstickrhetoric said:
    March 26, 2012 at 2:41 am

    I had a grandmother who was my best friend, she not only challenged me, she encouraged and inspired me. She would accept no excuses from me, and had the unconditional belief that if you really wanted to achieve something, just get on do it.

    She has now been gone 11 years, but is not forgotten, I still miss her wisdom and opionions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

