Before you wear a cross…know what it means

Posted on

Why would we wear a cross? What does our identification with this symbol mean? What should it mean? I see this symbol worn on jewelry and permanently adhered as tattoos.  And in a lot of the cases the image bearers display no allegiance or affinity to the One we celebrated today.  For those who have experienced the freedom Christ died to give, the cross is sacred.  Sure, many died by way of Roman crucifixion, but only ONE died for me.  Whenever I see it or think of it, I am reminded of the insurmountable weight of my sin…and of the immeasurable debt I owe Him.  I was a slave to sin, and He gave His life as a ransom for me.  The cross reminds me that on Calvary His life was given freely in exchange for mine.  In my freedom, I surrender to His lordship.  I am free, but I am His servant.  The life he purchased is now His to do with as He chooses.  I owe Him my life. We all do… The cross communicates to the world that I am His. If I am not His…if I have not willingly become his slave…his bondservant,  then my wearing of the cross presents a mockery of  his sacrifice. Before you wear a cross, know what it means…and if you don’t truly identify with Him…at least think about this before you wear it….

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

