The World or the Word…which one will we submit to?

Posted on

Today (Monday) was supposed to be day one of our conversation of the month on Submission, but I am sitting at my dining room after having battled frustration, disppointment and tears!! Let’s just say this adventure that I have been sooooooo excited about embarking on with you has NOT started off as planned…at least not according to my plans.  The introductory post was supposed to be a video blog, but would you believe that original video somehow disappeared when my husband sat down to preview it for me.  Then the second run has suffered so many errors transitioning from my computer to youtube that I almost said “I’m done with videos FOREVER!!!” Somewhere in between the kids lessons for the day, taking Kayla to assist her great aunt who just came out of hip surgery, preparing meals and doing laundry, I sat down and decided to work on the post for tomorrow…and tomorrows was forgotten and this one was born 😀

The picture above sums up the next month of discussion, and I genuinely hope that you decide to join me.  While it is not the video I had planned for you, it communicates very well the battle that many of us find ourselves in.  Our struggle to submit has very little to do with our husbands, and everything to do with our hearts.  Who owns our heart? Who or what controls our decisions? Who or what is the greatest influence on your attitude about life, about God, about your husband?  Who or what dictates your perception of the world and how God’s laws do or do not fit?  Is it the everchanging, man-hating, self-loving world and all of its evil, or is it the never-changing, God loving, Christ honoring Word of God?  Think about it…search your heart, and answer honestly… What or who is your struggle really with??? What is is really over????

As you begin to search your heart tonight (you can only search your heart, noone elses), ask God to reveal to you area in your life that have not been submitted to Him.  This is where it begins for all of us.  What are you holding on to that God has requested you to let go of? Is it unforgiveness…anger…a perspective that you know doesn’t agree with God’s word, but you’ve convinced yourself that God understands…is it a negative view of men, or more specifically, your man??? What is it that you are holding onto rather than yielding (submitting) it to the Lord? Whatever it is, God’s love is greater.  Give it to Him…lay it down at His feet…and get up in freedom. Meditate on Psalm 139:13-16, and as you relax tonight ask yourself if the God who created you is worthy of you submitting your life to?? When you come to the answer that I believe you will, I know your answer will be the same as mine…a resounding YES!!!

PSALM 139:13-16

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.

I hope you prayed these words with me… Let’s commit to waking up tomorrow with our hearts and minds set on submitting to God will for our lives.  😀

I look forward to tomorrow being a day FREE of technical difficulties, a day spent being reminded of Gods glory, and a day that I get to spend encouraging all of you! I can’t wait to hear from you! Lets grow together  😀

Leave a Reply

