Are ALL Children a Gift? Part 2a

Posted on Updated on

On October 18th I posted part 1 of Are All Children a Gift, and in the  days since it was posted it has remained not only the most viewed post, but also the one most commented on. Below is a comment posted by April Cassidy at Peacefulwife.com. She brings up a lot of points I planned to make in part 2, and I thank her for her comment!

peacefulwife
November 1, 2012 at 11:01 am Edit →

I WISH that I had considered this topic a lot more seriously when we were first married. I was IN CONTROL of my life and terrified to give God control on every level. We used birth control pills for many years (to help with my heavy periods and to wait on pregnancy) until my husband had insurance and I knew I could go part-time when we had babies. I need to write a post on this! But I was SO AFRAID when I came off of pills. I felt very out of control and panicked. I had not been practicing trusting God and I was scared to death. Thankfully, we got pregnant the first month, or I may have gone back on the pills. I didn’t like feeling out of control and not being in charge. But I really NEEDED that experience to see that I AM NOT IN CONTROL!

I think birth control pills were a HUGE part of the shift in mentality and the definition of femininity and marriage that began in the 1960s. It has allowed us to separate procreation from sex – and that has resulted in so many nightmare issues. It is also largely why women can work today and that has brought a whole host of other problems that never existed before – and increases the disrespect level of women towards their husbands many times.

There are so many ramifications! It is just crazy!

Is it always a sin to use birth control pills or birth control? I don’t really know! I don’t think I can judge that. I think only God knows that for sure. And there can be medical reasons women use them. I think just like with everything in the Christian walk it boils down to – what are my motives? Am I honoring God and His Word and His design? Am I being selfish? Do I have idols in my heart?

But I do know that when the concept of birth control entered our culture – it was introduced by feminists who hated God’s design for marriage, and hated God, His Word and His church. They were intent on destroying God-given authority, and godly marriage, and godly families. The concept of birth control has changed the way we value children. It has made them “an inconvenience.” We sometimes desire a good figure rather than the gift of children. This has affected our ideas about so many areas of life. I don’t know that it’s possible to overestimate the impact of birth control on our culture, families, marriages, churches and society.

I want to see us honoring God, seeking Him above all else, looking to His Word and bringing great glory to Him!

Thanks April for sharing in response to the post. I appreciate your feedback and I know it has been and will continue to be a blessing to many!

One thought on “Are ALL Children a Gift? Part 2a

    peacefulwife said:
    November 14, 2012 at 10:12 am

    You’re welcome, Joyfully Submitted! This is a HUGE issue – and such a tough one. Thank you for addressing it. It is central to the definition of femininity. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

