One Day…

Posted on Updated on

This is granddad and grandmother… Ukali’s grandparents….They both went home to be with the Lord in the past year and a half. We saw 1st hand how/what our modern society thinks of the elderly in how they were cared for…

~~~~~~~~~~~

As I think about the kind of people

That we want our children to grow and become

I am dismayed by the state of the world

The lack of compassion for the elderly demonstrated by some

~~~~~~~~~~~

More than having diapers changed, and midnight feedings,

More than being bathed, dressed and nursing at my breast,

More than homework, laundry, having their tears dried.

More than…the list is too long to compress

~~~~~~~~~~~

What happens when OUR hair turns gray?

What happens when it’s OUR shaky hands they have to hold?

What happens when OUR vision fades?

What happens when those who served the young grow old?

~~~~~~~~~~~

One day they will be the ones taking care of you.

One day they will be in charge of getting you dressed and tying your shoes.

One day they will wash behind your ears.

One day they will provide your care, in just a few years….

~~~~~~~~~~~

As I think about the kind of people 

We want our children to grow up and become 

I am dismayed by the state of the world

The lack of compassion  for the elderly demonstrated by some…

5 thoughts on “One Day…

    peacefulwife said:
    November 15, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Wow! This brings tears to my eyes. Very thought provoking. Thank you, Selena!

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      November 15, 2012 at 9:49 am

      You are welcome… My Aunt lost her husband this Summer and she is now in icu as a result of an emergency bypass and an infection that followed…please pray for her and her family…The care of those who are older has really hit me hard as we laid to rest Ukali’s grandparents, my beloved Uncle Tommy, and a few others over this past year and a half…

      Like

    peacefulwife said:
    November 15, 2012 at 8:39 am

    I wanted to post this on my FB – but I don’t see the button. 😦

    Like

    humblerevolutionary said:
    November 16, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Reblogged this on humblerevolutionary and commented:
    My moms poem. I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

