Response: Should Christians Teach Their Children About Santa

Posted on Updated on

Question?? Why do believers feel that in order for our children to experience the joy and wonder that only comes through the revelation of Jesus Christ, we facilitate their introduction to a lie first? On some level would they not later question the truth of the existence of Christ if what was told to them about beloved Santa was later found to be untrue? I mean, if Santa is the tool used to show them Christ, but he is later revealed to be a lie, an idol or false god of sorts, what’s to keep them from looking at Christ through the same lens they were given from the beginning, which once was rosy, but now is shattered and has very little if any visibility?? The Truth always sets us free…the lies alway imprisons…As CHRISTians, lets honor and obey the God we profess to adore and not give our kids anything for them to worship in the Lords place.  And do we think it’s an accidental occurrence that Santa receives more worship and adoration at the time set aside to celebrate Christ’s birth than He does… Let’s remember that a lie is a lie is a lie…no matter what our ‘motivation’, and the supplying our kids with idols…never a good idea! Just something to think about…

9 thoughts on “Response: Should Christians Teach Their Children About Santa

    The Water Bearer said:
    December 10, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    Completely Agree — I hope you like my poem… Blessings to you!

    “Lilly sit still” My mother’s voice rings out

    “I don’t want to” I say, as I punch and shout.

    The fat jolly man on who’s knee I was sat

    Thought it ok to give a soothing pat

    ……

    But his touch didn’t soothe my flighty fight

    In fact it didn’t feel quite right

    And when I tried to sleep that night

    The thought of him gave me an awful fright

    ……

    I’d heard of Santa Claus and his right

    To come into my home at night

    Our security screens were in doubt

    And wouldn’t keep this stranger out

    …..

    My parents said “sleep” I must

    For “Santa Claus we sure could trust”

    But everything else they had taught before

    Lay open in warning all over the floor

    …..

    I knew I hadn’t done my best all year

    So why were there so many presents here?

    They told me he viewed me from all ranges

    This proves I need to make no changes.

    ….

    The kids at school told me it was all a lie

    “My parents lied?” I wondered why…

    So if that fat man they forced me to love

    Wasn’t really watching from above

    Perhaps there is no God there too

    And why should I believe in you?

    ….

    When I grew up and became a mum

    I told my kids that was no fun

    I wanted them to know I would tell no lies

    Not of fairy’s or Santa or the bogey man’s flies

    …..

    The birth of Christ is our Christmas story

    A babe who came with hope and glory

    His purpose here is losing impact

    Diluted by a man with toys in his sack

    ….

    I see these tricks now so much better

    and it comes with the change of just one letter

    Santa’s ‘N’ makes it’s way to the end

    as Satan’s name is sure to offend

    ….

    In a world so full of broken trust

    A parent’s truth is a vital must

    So before you tuck your kids in this eve

    Be sure of what you make them believe

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      December 11, 2012 at 1:56 am

      This is awesome…powerful…and extremely relevant!!!!! I love it…just shared it with my husband and will share with the kids tomorrow. Is it ok if i post this?? Is it on your blog to be reblogged or just here? I have another post coming on this topic and would love to include this…you have no idea how much i appreciate you sharing this with me!!!Thank you:-)

      Like

    scentsableliving said:
    December 11, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Great truth Selena and what an awesome poem The Water Bearer. I wrote something last year called Santa vs. Jesus which covered miracles vs. magic, truth vs. a lie and how it all began in the garden. Satan wants the glory over God and I LOVE how you tied Santa’s name in by putting the “N” at the end. Such wonderful, eye-opening truth. That I pray many will receive.

    This year as I saw the ornament that ties them both together (you know, the one with a BIG Santa kneeling over a tiny baby Jesus in a manger it hit me that I was looking at Satan. He wants to be glorified above God, He wants the truth to be overshadowed by the lie, and to twist it in such a way that it looks natural. Here this Santa (now with an “N”, love it!) is above the throne so-to-speak in this ornament that MANY will hang from their trees this year.

    I am reposting for others to read. Many blessings to you both this Christmas season as we ponder and reflect on the real reason for the season. Christ didn’t come to be a cute little babe in the arms of His mother, He came because He knew we needed a Savior.

    I don’t need magic, I have Jesus!

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

      The Water Bearer said:
      December 23, 2012 at 3:29 am

      Thank you so much for your support of my poem and beliefs. I agree with everything you have written here. It is so very obvious to me and I am glad others are out there spreading the word to take back Christmas from the clutches of evil. Blessings to you!

      Like

    Benjamin Pennington said:
    December 13, 2012 at 2:01 am

    I am of the mind that Santa can, if I can borrow from The Santa Clause, is more like a state of mind than a person. So the figure could be used as a symbol of generosity. Of course, we should probably take it back to Church history’s real Bishop Nicholas of Myra. I have already decided that I will not teach my kids the diluted, secular figure. St. Nicholas’ memory has been twisted to fit our culture’s “I want, I want.”

    One thought that I have at the moment, however, is this: if we are presenting Christ as “rosy” now, then shame on us. No wonder our children walk away from the illusion when it does not satisfy worldly dreams of happiness. Jesus is GOD, Creator of galaxies, upholding the universe by the word of his power. That God became flesh. That God experienced humanity and pain and death. Nothing rosy. More to think about…

    Like

    theplatonist said:
    December 22, 2012 at 5:38 am

    No true child of God would ever feed their child a lie. The obvious reason, “Thou shalt not lie”. Secondly, what an insult to the Almighty God and His Son, Jesus Christ. For those of us fortunate enough to come to the truth of Jesus Christ why would you deny that same truth to your own child. The first truth your child should learn is the existence and sacrifice of Jesus Christ. Period. The thing is, so many so-called Christians are lying to their children about the existence of Santa and I can’t seem to wrap my head around this. I always think to myself “What in the world are you thinking!?” And, “Why would you do such a thing?” It literally doesn’t make sense to me. How can people be so easily fooled by the devil, forget the fact that most of what we see as Christmas is derived from pagan holidays, but something like Santa is an obvious deception of the devil.

    I had an employer who is a Baptist Christian and she was telling me about how she didn’t want her son to find out that Santa wasn’t real. I asked her why in the world would she even put that in his head being that she’s a Christian. She gave some excuse about wanting him to experience the whole thing? Something silly like that. I know for a fact that I would never do this to my children. We have to be careful not to lead children astray or to offend them because of the heart that Christ has for them, it would be very dangerous for the offender.

    Like

      The Water Bearer said:
      December 23, 2012 at 3:32 am

      Agreed! It is mind blowing that this has gone on for so long and come so far. You would enjoy the discussion on my blog under the post of my poem above. It detailed my position of how I handled this situation with my own children. Blessing to you!
      http://innerangelsandenemies.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/a-poem-of-christmas-woe/

      Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      December 23, 2012 at 10:32 am

      I just shared your response with my husband this morning. We have often been disheartened at the commitment that quite a few ‘Christians’ seem to have to the lie that is Santa!!! It is rare that we come across others who refuse, and I mean flat out refuse, to lie to their kids and rob God of his glory, and Christ of his honor. On this most holy of days how dare we steal the spotlight cast by angels and kings and wise men alike and cast it in a different direction. Thank you for your comment. It is a blessing to both of us to be your brother and sister in the faith.

      Like

Leave a Reply

