Christmas from the perspective of a 10 year old little boy!

Posted on Updated on

The following post was submitted by my now 14 year old son Jordan, four years ago, while our family was publishing a bi-monthly newsletter that was designed to encourage and disciple the family in the ways of The Lord.  In my motherly mind, involving the kids was a GREAT way to develop the communication skills necessary for successful writing and then speech.  He is an avid writer like his mama, and waaaayyyy more of a deep thinker than I was at his age, but then the world is a lot darker than it was when I was his age.  Anyway, here are the 10 year old Jordan’s thoughts on Santa.

http://risingpyramid.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Santa-List.gif
http://risingpyramid.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Santa-List.gif

“What you are about to read was submitted to me by my youngest son, Jordan. The issues that he plans on addressing each month are things that weigh on his heart and mind…such a young heart/mind to bear this kind of weight…but good that he does at the same time. At the time of this writing, our family has been reflecting on what has been an extremely difficult year. I contemplated not using Jordan’s article this month because at times kids can be a little too candid, and reveal a little too much, if you know what I mean. How- ever, as I read this I realized that our recent ‘tough times’ had given him a greater appreciation for the things that we have been blessed with, and not an increased desire for the things we hadn’t. He still speaks and writes like a 10 year old, and he’s still my baby, but he also has a wisdom about things that I know comes from God. So know that these are not the arbitrary words of a little boy. They really are from the heart of a young man committed to God and to telling the world about Him and His ways. As his mother, I feel that it is my duty and honor to give his voice an audience, and to give him a little help as he learns to use that voice. I will attempt to make extremely minimal corrections or changes in order to preserve the authenticity of his young voice, and the wisdom and sincerity of his old heart. “

 

If you ask me, greed causes people to do things that they usually wouldn’t do. Greed can make you kill, steal, lie do anything for the things that you want. It will make you be mean to people, and not show them the love of God. [In the first issue of HIS VOICE, greed was defined as ’an excessive or rapacious desire, especially for wealth or possessions’.]  Greed was in my heart. I wasn’t willing to do everything for what I wanted, but if I was allowed to get the things that I wanted, I could very easily go over my limits. But soon God gave me His sight on this problem of mine, and I straightened up.

Christmas or Xmas, as some call it (that’s what people call it who don’t want Christ to be a part of Christmas) has become all about presents. But it wasn’t always that way. It was about Christ. Luke 1:26-55 says, “In the sixth month of Elizabeth’s pregnancy, God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a village in Galilee, to a virgin named Mary. She was engaged to be married to a man named Joseph, a descendant of King David. Gabriel appeared to her and said, “Greetings, favored woman! The Lord is with you!” Confused and disturbed, Mary tried to think what the angel could mean. “Don’t be afraid, Mary,” the angel told her, “for you have found favor with God! You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you will name him Jesus. He will be very great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his ancestor David. And he will reign over Israel forever; his Kingdom will never end!” Mary asked the angel, “But how can this happen? I am a virgin.” The angel replied, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will over- shadow you. So the baby to be born will be holy, and he will be called the Son of God. What’s more, your relative Elizabeth has become pregnant in her old age! People used to say she was barren, but she’s now in her sixth month. For nothing is impossible with God.” Mary responded, “I am the Lord’s servant. May everything you have said about me come true.” And then the angel left her.

A few days later Mary hurried to the hill country of Judea, to the town where Zecha- riah lived. She entered the house and greeted Elizabeth. At the sound of Mary’s greeting, Elizabeth’s child leaped within her, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. Elizabeth gave a glad cry and exclaimed to Mary, “God has blessed you above all women, and your child is blessed. Why am I so honored, that the mother of my Lord should visit me? When I heard your greeting, the baby in my womb jumped for joy. You are blessed because you believed that the Lord would do what he said.” Mary responded, “Oh, how my soul praises the Lord. How my spirit rejoices in God my Savior! For he took notice of his lowly servant girl, and from now on all generations will call me blessed. For the Mighty One is holy, and he has done great things for me. He shows mercy from generation to generation to all who fear him. His mighty arm has done tremendous things! He has scattered the proud and haughty ones. He has brought down princes from their thrones and exalted the humble. He has filled the hungry with good things and sent the rich away with empty hands. He has helped his servant Israel and remembered to be merciful. For he made this promise to our ancestors, to Abraham and his children forever.”

See, Christmas isn’t about the presents and it’s not about Santa, but it’s all about Christ. One constant problem is that people give Santa the power not G-O-D. (My mom is helping me with this part. I know what I’m trying to say, but she knows the words a little better than me). People make Santa omniscient, meaning he knows everything…He knows when you’re sleeping, he knows when you’re awake, he knows if you’ve been bad or good…The Bible says in 1 John 3:20 that “Even if we feel guilty, God is greater than our feelings, and he knows everything.” (NLT) The Bible says that God knows everything not Santa. Another characteristic of God that the world attributes to Santa is that Santa is eternal, meaning he lives forever. That is not true. Psalm 90:2 says “Before the mountains were born, before you gave birth to the earth and the world, from beginning to end, you are God.” (NLT) One last thing that the Bible teaches us about God, but we give Santa credit for is found in James 1:17. It says “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights.” (KJV) Are we hearing this? Every good gift comes from God, not Santa.

I used to want to believe in Santa just for fun. But it’s not fun to take the things that God does and give someone else credit for them. God tells us in Exodus 20 that he is a jealous God and will not tolerate our affection for any other gods. I think we have made Santa into an idol god and people worship him at Christmas and not the real G-O-D. I called this “Check It”  because I want us to check our hearts and see if Christ has been X’d out of our Christmas. I know that my parents work hard for my family and that God blesses them to give me gifts. So from me to you, Merry Christmas. 

 

This was written by Jordan White

2 thoughts on “Christmas from the perspective of a 10 year old little boy!

    hiddinsight said:
    December 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    Great post. Thank you for sharing this. You have a very smart kid.

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      December 12, 2012 at 8:12 pm

      Thanks 😀 Of course I think so! But he is very thoughtful and analytical…and he DID NOT want me to post this!!! LOL He feels his ‘writing’ has come a long way since then, and it has, but this one worked for me 😀 Thanks for reading what he wrote 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

