Submission! I Do….but I Don’t!!!

Posted on Updated on

I was extremely blessed to have spent Friday afternoon with two beautiful young wives.  Their love for God and desire to live lives that are pleasing to Him were apparent in the sheer amount of energy it took to focus while nursing babies and changing diapers and quieting little ones.  I smiled to myself as I remembered the early years of my marriage when my children were babies…and small…and loud…and unconcerned with the needs of anyone else on the planet…and my husband was working…and I was fighting valiantly to love God and obey His Word…and I was earnestly trying to learn how and what it meant to love my husband and my children.  During those years I really could have used an older woman or two whose joy it was to walk alongside younger women after the model given to us in Titus 2.

I have been searching my heart in an effort to find my voice on this blog, and I have written about various things.  But the thing that causes my heart to ache is the same thing that caused me to begin this blogging journey, and it’s the same thing that compels me to write today; My heart aches for the women today who are like I was when I got married. I truly desired to honor God and my husband, but I HAD NO IDEA how to do that.  I remember when Ukali and I went to a relative, who is a pastor at a local church, for some premarital advice before the actual ‘I Do’s’, and the relative made the comment that he felt we were very compatible and only foresaw on potential issue.  I braced myself and was prepared for him to say anything other than what he said.  His observed potential issue was…Yep! You guessed it…ME!!!!!…. and the likelihood of me experiencing difficulty and resistance to submitting to my husband’s God-given authority.  Well, needless to say, I was a little more than moderately offended…and afraid that he was right! And guess what? He was!!!!

But guess what else? My story doesn’t end there, and hopefully, neither does yours.  Let’s tell our stories together. During the month of October we will be looking closely at the word SUBMISSION. I will be speaking directly to questions/concerns you have in regards to the Biblical model of submission in marriage.  Take a few minutes and message me your questions, concerns, struggles and victories in this area.  We would love to hear from you.  Submission of questions/comments can begin immediately!! JOIN THE CONVERSATION 😀

Leave a Reply

