Delicious Guacamole! And I know ALL the Ingredients Because I Put Them In!!

Posted on Updated on

As the New Year rolls on I have found myself doing more cooking than blogging!!! Ukali has had soome time off and I have truly enjoyed ALL of the time we have had together with the kids, extended family, and each other over the last couple of weeks.  I thank God for EVERY second we have had together, and a good part of that time has been spent in the kitchen cooking and trying new recipes!!! My mom blessed me with a new food processor that I LOVE and have already found tons of uses for, and Ukali blessed us with a new Breville Juicer that is AMAZING!!! So there are lots of things that I have wanted to do that are now getting done 😀

My oldest son, Isaiah, loves loves loves guacamole.  I enjoy it as well, but have always been a little resistant to purchasing it as frequently as he would have liked due to the additives, preservatives and long shelf life of store bought quacomole. I thought about making it several times last year but just never got around to it. As the new year has already begun to race by, I decided to seize the moment and just do it!!! I had all of the ingredients and had grown horribly wearied of my excuses in many areas. Do you have things in your life like this? Things you put on the back burner, but you just never went back to the burner to turn it on?? Well the back burners are on and we couldn’t be happier! There are several things I’ll be sharing that were on the back burner last year but have been brought to the front and are cooking as we speak 😀 To start with, here is the guacamole recipe I used today. This recipe is found at http://www.allrecipes.com.

GUACAMOLE DIP

Ingredients:

2 Ripe Avocados
1 tsp. Salt
1 1/2 tsp. Lemon Juice
1 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce
3 Cloves Garlic
1/3 tsp. Red Pepper
1/2 tbsp. Grated onion… (I actually diced 1/2 red onion and used)
2 dashes red pepper sauce (optional)

Wash, peel, pit and mash avocados. Mix in a small cup minced garlic, salt and lemon juice and let soak for 15-30 minutes. This takes the edge off of the garlic. Add remaining ingredients and use either a food processor (which I gladly used), or mix by hand. Makes about 1 1/2 cup.

*NOTE
I would recommend using either 1/2 tsp. Salt or 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce. This recipe had more salt than we are accustomed to or like, so next time around salt will be decreased. It was still delicious and loved by the whole family, but even the kids recommended less salt without me having to suggest it. ENJOY!!

wpid-20130102_120225.jpg

wpid-20130102_120515.jpg

wpid-20130102_121255.jpg

wpid-20130102_123641.jpg

wpid-20130102_124117.jpg

wpid-20130102_125133.jpg

For additional information on the health benefits of those HUGE Avocado seeds go to

http://www.livestrong.com/article/327942-dry-avocado-seeds-for-nutrition/?utm_source=popslideshow&utm_medium=a1

wpid-20130102_120523.jpg

If you have another recipe to share I would love to post it! Leave a comment and let me know how this one turned out for you 😀

3 thoughts on “Delicious Guacamole! And I know ALL the Ingredients Because I Put Them In!!

    Joyful Reader said:
    January 3, 2013 at 7:35 am

    We love it too! It is pretty pricey to make but is worth it on special occasions! Thank you for a tried and true recipe! We will give it a whirl!

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      January 3, 2013 at 9:13 am

      Joyful Reader, I am so glad you’re giving this a try. Please be sure to let me know what tou guys think…mine did not make it through the say…gone 🙂

      Like

    my2monsters said:
    January 22, 2013 at 11:17 am

    mmm I love guacamole! Actually I just love avocados period! We eat them just about every day in some way or another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

