Should Christians use Birth Control?

Posted on

In response to yesterdays post, This Issue of Birth Control, I received a message this morning that I want to share with all of you.                                                                                              

“Good morning. I thought of sharing this with you on yesterday’s topic of birth control. My sister-n-law is in the hospital in th psych ward right now. Admitted yesterday. She’s hallucinating, seeing people, talking to them, they are talking back, etc. She recognized something was happening weeks ago and yet the doctors were clueless. We pulled up her b.c. (birth control) on the internet and everything [she is experiencing] is a result of the depo shot.  Gods plan was to procreate, man’s is to destroy. It has been an emotional road for us because things have been happening to her body for a while now. Her husband pulled up the side effects yesterday and is taking them to her doctor today. She has EVERY single side effect listed, including euphoria. Please add her to your prayers today if you don’t mind.” So, not only did I pray and will I continue to pray, but I will solicit your prayers as well.

After receiving this message my heart was definitely grieved. I personally know many women who have believed the lies and used birth control for years, only to decide that they were finally ready to have children, and then discover that they were unable to conceive.  The birth control had worked so well to prevent their bodies from functioning the way that God designed for so long, that now eggs were not releasing from their ovaries even though they stopped taking the b.c..  

The issue of birth control is not a minor issue, but a MAJOR one, and one where believers are, once again, divided.  Though we read verses in the Bible like Psalm 127 :3-5 which says, “Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from him. Children born to a young man are like arrows in a warrior’s hands. How joyful is the man whose quiver is full of them!”, many of us prefer to maintain our right to choose when to fill our quivers.  This issue is a hot topic for Christians, and many feel that what they do and what they choose is none of anyone else’s business. We live in the ‘don’t judge me’ era, where some believe they can live any kind of way and choose to not line their lives up with Gods Word and still be considered Christians…and don’t you dare say anything about it!  Some even go to church faithfully on Sundays, but Monday through Saturday choose to live, think and act like those who have never been introduced to the Lord, or who have the same level of awareness of Him that the devil does.  I am so strongly convinced that the area of birth control is one of the areas where we choose to only know Christ as a casual acquaintance instead of Lord of ALL.  When it comes to this subject, all of a sudden rather than the voice of the Lord being the only one we follow, we fall in line with the voice of the world…the voice of the culture… and we exercise our free will, not to follow the leading of the Lord, but our right to choose. After all, it’s my body, and I can do what I want…right? 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 says it this way; “Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself,  for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.” 

So let me get this straight…

1. My body is the temple of the Holy Spirit

2. I do not belong to myself

3. Because God bought me with a HIGH price (the blood of His only Son) I MUST honor God with my body

So, even though the passage where these verses are found is dealing with fornication, these verses still apply to the whole life of the believer.  Our bodies DO NOT belong to us after we have committed the WHOLE of our lives to the Lord and entrusted our hearts, our lives, our minds, as well as our choices, to HIS LORDSHIP.

birthcontrol1

 An old article by liveadvocate.org said it this way; 

Christians Use Birth Control?by Randall Terry

Have you ever stopped to think why Christian couples use birth control?

“We just got married and we are not ready for kids. “

“We want to give quality time to the children we already have.”

‘We simply cannot afford another child.”

“I’d go crazy if we had any more kids.”

Do any of these excuses sound familiar to you? Or better yet, are you using any of these excuses?

When I discuss the notion that we should trust God with how many children we should have, I hear the above excuses again and again, plus a multitude more.

I have heard these excuses before — on the doorstep of an abortion mill.

The dreadful truth is that most of the excuses that women give for having their children killed through abortion are the exact same reasons we give for not having children.

At its core, birth control is anti-child. And I am not only speaking about abortifacients such as the pill or I.U.D., but any drug or device that prevents us from having children. When we use birth control we are saying, “No, I do not want children.”

Is it any wonder that the church cannot stop child-killing? How do we expect to defeat child-killing in the world when we cannot defeat child-rejection in our own midst? Jeremiah said if we run with footmen and grow weary, what will we do with horses?

I cannot be too hard on Christians who use birth control. My wife and I fell into the same trap when we were first married. We were told by all of our peers and spiritual leaders that it was the “wise” thing to do. Frankly, we would much rather have a nine year old son or daughter than such wisdom.

In an age of Christianity when we constantly talk about faith, trusting God, God supplying our needs, etc., why can’t we simply trust God for how many children we have?

When we use birth control, we are cutting short our heritage; we are perhaps short-circuiting entire generations of humanity. Consider this: Mrs. Wesley’s thirteenth child, Charles, wrote hundreds of glorious hymns; Mrs. Whitefield’s seventh child, George, was the most prominent preacher in the Great Awakening in America; Mrs. Washington’s fifth child (fifth out of ten) was our beloved first President. If Mrs. Washington had been in some of our churches today, after her third or fourth child half of the women in the church would have told her to get a diaphragm or have her tubes tied! What a tragic loss that would be for all of us.

What do you think when you see a woman with five children? Are you happy or embarrassed? Do you approach her with congratulations or condolences? Do you happily exclaim, “Are these all yours?! What a blessing!” Or do you somberly question,” Are these all yours? You poor thing. How do you do it? I would go crazy.”

The horrible reality is that much of the Church today in America is anti-child. We view children as a burden, a nuisance, an interruption in our lives, a drain on our finances, a sapping of our strength, and on and on.

Many Christians can’t get righteously indignant about child-killing when in their hearts they sympathize with why some women have abortions.

So what do we do? Hopefully, nobody reading this is on the pill or using an I.U.D. If you are, stop immediately. They are abortifacients. If you know someone who is using them be a friend to them and tell them the truth. But furthermore, if you are using any kind of birth control—stop. Leave the number of children you have in God’s hands.

“Oh, but I’ll have 10 kids!” I hear someone exclaiming. With all due respect, you don’t know how many children you will have. Leah had six, Rachel had two, Sarah and Rebekah had one. The truth is, you simply don’t know how many children you will have.

If you have been “sterilized,” seek a medical reversal. I recently met a pastor in Oregon who sold his baseball card collection in order to pay for his wife’s tubal ligation to be reversed. They are rejoicing in the Lord as she enters her seventh month of pregnancy with a child they almost never had.

One final thought; consider the origins of the birth control movement—Margaret Sanger and Planned Parenthood. Margaret Sanger wanted Christians (among others) to use birth control. She despised our God, and loathed large Christian families. If someone could laugh in hell, she would surely laugh at us. I would like to quote one of the least popular Psalms of our day, Psalm 127:3-5.

Behold, children are a gift of the Lord; The fruit of the womb is a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, so are the children of one’s youth. How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them; They shall

not be ashamed, When they speak with their enemies in the gate.

These verses clearly proclaim how we should view our children they are our heritage, our reward. In fact our children are the only eternal possession we have except for our own souls.

God restore to us a respect, a love and a desire for our most precious possessions — the fruit of the womb.

~~~

After receiving the above message this morning I began to look into the side effects of the Depo-Provera Shot, which is what the  woman referred to in the message is suffering from. According to Planned Parenthood website;

The birth control shot is an injection of a hormone that prevents pregnancy. Each shot prevents pregnancy for three months.

The shot is also known by the brand name Depo-Provera, or by the name of the medicine in the shot, DMPA.

~~

Like other methods of birth control, the birth control shot releases a hormone — progestin — into the body. Hormones are chemicals made in our bodies. They control how different parts of our bodies work.

The progestin in the shot works by keeping eggs from leaving the ovaries. Pregnancy cannot happen if there is no egg to join the sperm.

Making cervical mucus thicker. This keeps sperm from getting to the eggs

~~

Birth Control Shot at a Glance;

A shot in the arm that prevents pregnancy

Safe, effective, and convenient

Easy to get with a prescription

Lasts for three months

Costs $35–$75 per injection, plus any exam fees

~~

Did you read that? Safe, effective, convenient.  The side effects are also listed on the site, but they are minimized. After listing all of the side effects, inquirers are reassured that this form of birth control as well as ALL forms of birth control are safe, effective and convenient.  Do you know what else wears the same tags as birth control? Abortion. They are both described as safe, effective and convenient. For those of us who are believers…who have committed our lives to living to honor the Lord, Jesus Christ…who have chosen to lay our will down at His feet and live out His will for our lives instead…for us, choosing to go against Gods will and His Word is never, has never been, and will never be safe, effective and convenient. Obedience to God’s Word is the only way to live.

“So God created human beings in his own image.
    In the image of God he created them;
    male and female he created them.

Then God blessed them and said, “Be fruitful and multiply. Fill the earth and govern it.”  Genesis 1:27-28

7 thoughts on “Should Christians use Birth Control?

    claudiavharris said:
    January 11, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    I have had both views, believing it was my duty to choose the right number of kids for me, then realizing that was not my business. Today I am in awe of how much The Lord has changed me :-). You know what, if He hadn’t I wouldn’t have Brielle and Carter! It’s in times like this that we get to choose if we will walk by sight or by faith. Terrific freedom came to me when I have up control. God knows what His purpose is for my body. I don’t. I’m ok with that. Love ya, friend. Keep up the great work!

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      January 11, 2013 at 11:55 pm

      Kayla reminded me yesterday after the first post that as much as I regret tying my tubes, had I not done that my heart may not have been soooo desperate for a baby…hence my Leahs adoption. My heart still grieves the womb permanently closed before it’s time! I praise God for your tender heart to His leading and for your BEAUTIFUL BABIES!!!

      Like

    candleinthenight said:
    January 12, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Wow…you’re bold. 🙂 I really enjoy most of your articles and enjoyed most of this one. I agree with you 100% on the abortifacients. I also agree with you 100% on people wanting small families because we’ve become an anti-child world. I think there IS a place though in some cases for certain forms of birth control. Hear me out before you disagree. 🙂

    I currently have two children…15 months apart. My husband and I didn’t use birth control aside from exclusive nursing between them. My daughter nursed all night long (or so it seemed) and my cycle still returned and I got pregnant when she was six months old. Now, we want a large family, but that second pregnancy so close to the first was super hard on my body. Women used to die in childbirth and I believe that non-hormonal birth control can be a good way to help give your body time to recover in between children.

    When my second was six months old, I felt exhausted in a worse way than I had with my first. It took my body a long time to recover from those two babies back to back. And my cycle still returned early and I could have (and probably would have) gotten pregnant again when my second was six months old. Now I know that you might say that if that is God’s plan, then it’s God’s plan, but I really believe that God does give us doctors and has given us many things in modern medicine to help save lives. These things can be used inproperly, but that doesn’t make the item itself bad in all cases.

    I guess I just wanted you to think about that a little more before addressing all women who use all forms of birth control. I know I’m one of the minority who wants a large family, but there are those of us out here who want a large family, but want to be healthy enough to be there for and enjoy those children that God gives us.

    Thank you for being bold in your testimony and for addressing this important issue. 🙂

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      January 12, 2013 at 12:32 am

      Candleinthenight, it is nice to meet you! 😀 I wouldn’t say bold…but definitely passionate. I have been looking back in retrospect over a lot of things and a lot of areas where I KNOW that I was NOT trusting the Lord over the past almost 20 years…this area is one of them. I also know that I am not the only woman who loves God but struggles giving Him full control over the details of our lives. We have similarities, you and I!! My first 2 are just 15 months apart…if you get a chance read the post that preceded this one. I had very difficult pregnancies and of the 3 children that I gave birth to, 2 of them were premies… our youngest, who is adopted was the most premature of all…she was actually born at a point where women still abort. I have no desire to come across as harsh or making blanket judgements…that is NOT AT ALL my heart. My heart is to sound an alarm loud enough to wake women up everywhere to the truth that we need to return our hearts to trusting God in ALL things…and that includes when and how many children we have. I have never fully recovered from the toll of difficult pregnancies on my body, but I have lived long enough to know that it was not my call to make. I trusted God, but only half way…So was that really trust at all??? We each have to answer that for ourselves…in our own hearts we know…Is He Lord over everything??? Do we trust Him with everything??? Only we know the answer to that question. I am so glad you commented, and I greatly appreciate you story and your gentle encouragement for me to be gracious… I can use a friendly reminder every now and then… 😀

      Like

        candleinthenight said:
        January 12, 2013 at 12:42 am

        I know you didn’t mean to be judgmental; I didn’t think you were being. 🙂 I read your story after I posted this and was really blessed by it. So my question is this…do you and your family use any form of medicine? If so, is that not trusting the Lord? I don’t know. I don’t want to come across as rude and I know on the internet it’s so hard to hear “voice”. Know that I’m asking this from my heart. 🙂 Thank you for your kind reply.

        Like

          joyfullysubmitted responded:
          January 12, 2013 at 1:01 am

          Well, actually, no…we do not use any medicine…and I mean that literally 🙂 I was on quite a bit of prescription meds at one point and we had more hlthan our share of otc drugs in the house…but some trusted friends shared Vemma with us and my health and the health of my family made a complete turn around. We simply don’t get sick…an havent for over 3 years now…Now that is an answer to prayer…Trusting God sometimes means that He answers in ways we didnt predict or expect…but it always works out for our good and not our calamity.

          Like

    scentsableliving said:
    January 12, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Thank you Selena. ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

