A Blogging Vacation (Getting Away to Spend Some Time With the Lord)

Posted on Updated on

For all of you faithful followers of Joyfully Submitted, I want to take a few minutes to thank you for your support and kind words of encouragement. I LOVE logging in and seeing the start and/or the comment box in the upper right hand corner lit up throughout the day.  If you are like, you probably subscribe to way too many blogs to ever actually read or have the time to even remember them all, so one less for a couple of weeks would actually be a wonderful blessing.  So, with that said, I am taking a 3 week vacation from blogging! Yep, you heard correctly…3 whole weeks..on purpose! “Why 3 weeks?” Well, I am glad you asked!

Slide1

Have you ever gone on vacation only to return EXHAUSTED and run down because you were unable to enjoy the place you were vacationing because of rushing each day to the planned activities? Well I have, and my ideal vacation incorporates time to relax and do things I am not normally able to do.  Not hard to understand, but why 3 weeks??? The vacation needs to be long enough where I am firmly convinced that I have actually done something differently,  and long enough away from home to become homesick…although I tend to get homesick with a weekend getaway, especially if the kids are not with us :D! Well, there will not be a lot of running around and an overabundance of activity on this vacation!! Exactly the opposite.  So, what will I be doing for these 3 weeks? Another great question!

1) I WILL REST

“You have six days each week for your ordinary work, but the seventh day must be a Sabbath day of complete rest,                                                                                  a holy day dedicated to the Lord. Anyone who works on the Sabbath must be put to death.” EXODUS 31:15

My family seems to be busy ALL OF THE TIME. And having one car, most of our weekends are spent running errands. The world is so busy and schedules get so full!!! Weekends, even Sundays, find invitations to baby showers, or bridal showers, or kids birthday parties, and community groups, or family dinners….what’s missing? REST! And we need plenty of it!! We are just run down.  While VEMMA is GREAT for providing energy, clarity of thought and overall health, we have discovered that it is no substitute for good old-fashioned REST!! And the business of our lives is crying out for SLEEP. Now, while I do not believe that the Lord will strike us dead for working on the Sabbath (we are no longer under the law), I do believe there are terrible physical repercussions to a lack of adequate rest.  So…I will be resting!

benefits-of-good-night-sleep

2) I WILL MEDITATE ON GODS WORD

“Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers;                                                   but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.” Psalms 1:1-2

~~~

“This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do                              according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.” Joshua 1:8

~~~

                            “In the way of your testimonies I delight as much as in all riches. I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways. I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.” Psalm 119:14-16

bible2

So often, when we get caught up in the hustle and bustle of life, we forget what’s really important. While my family spends time each day in God’s Word together, I very rarely get back to it to meditate and spend time with Him all by myself! I am famished for some alone time with my Lord!!! And I am going to go get it!!! My prayer is that I will be able to put some new healthy habits that are both physical and spiritual, in place during this time, primarily rest and time alone with the Lord 😀

3) I WILL READ

“How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! Through your precepts I get understanding;                                                               therefore I hate every false way. Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” Psalm 119:103-105

~~~

In the light of a king’s face there is life, and his favor is like the clouds that bring the spring rain. How much better to get wisdom than gold! To get understanding is to be chosen rather than silver.  The highway of the upright turns aside from evil; whoever guards his way preserves his life.” Proverbs 16:15-17

wisdom-green-sign

Remember ALL of those blogs I mentioned earlier that I subscribe to??? Well, they are phenomenal blogs worthy of a lot more than being categorized in my email in individual folders!!! Everyday I am more and more aware that I do not know everything…closer to not knowing much at all in the bigger scheme of things. I plan to take some time to read these blogs and learn from some Godly women who are a lot wiser than me.  There are so many posts that I tucked away for later and never got back to, or that I pinned on Pinterest and forgot about!!! I want to take time to scroll through them, take notes, and learn from them.  And then I want to come back and share with all of you what I have learned 😀

4) I PLAN TO GET ORGANIZED

  “Do you thus repay the Lord, you foolish and senseless people?Is not he your father, who created you, who made you and established you? Remember the days of old; consider the years of many generations; ask your father, and he will show you,
    your elders, and they will tell you.When the Most High gave to the nations their inheritance, when he divided mankind, he fixed the borders of the peoples according to the number of the sons of God.”Deuteronomy 32:6-8

~~~

“And to the Reubenites, the Gadites, and the half-tribe of Manasseh Joshua said, “Remember the word that Moses the servant of the Lord commanded you, saying, ‘The Lordyour God is providing you a place of rest and will give you this land.’  Your wives, your little ones, and your livestock shall remain in the land that Moses gave you beyond the Jordan, but all the men of valor among you shall pass over armed before your brothers and shall help them,…” Joshua 1:12-14

Slide1

We have fallen off of the neat, organized and decluttered track ridiculously since the holidays. I have had a schedule since the kids were little, and over the last couple of years we have slipped off a little bit more each year.  Well, this year we fell off almost completely, and I did not put us back on.  If this sounds like your family (please say that it does and I am not alone!!! :D) then we together are not much different from the children of Israel in Scripture.  They had to be reminded to remember God’s Word, to remember his laws, and to remember his promises over and over and over again because they often forgot… they fell of the track completely!  Where we feel the negative impact of failing to keep up in the areas of a; Our relationship with the Lord, b; our relationships within the walls of our homes, and c; our relationships with those God has put in our lives to be examples and guides to a God honoring lifestyle, they also felt the negative impacts of their failure to remember and their failure to pass on the teachings of their Godly ancestors with situations like losing in battle and being taken captive by pagan nations repeatedly.  If we do not make the primary goals of our lives loving God with all of our heart, soul and strength, teaching our children to love and honor the Lord who created them, and modeling holiness of heart, attitude and lifestyle to all we come in contact with, we will experience losses in battle, and we will watch our children be taken captive by pagan ideas and idolatry. Just like the children of Israel were reminded to REMEMBER God’s word, we must remind ourselves and our children to remember what we have taught them and the disciplines we have tried to pass on to them. But if we forget, if we don’t take time to remember, who will remind them? While our kids may obey our words during childhood, we will live to see them live as we lived in adulthood. I will not be getting organized just for organizations sake.  I will be getting organized for the sake of remembering and reminding all of us of the habits that will help lead them into a prosperous and profitable future, wherever the Lord leads them.

5) I WILL WORK ON BECOMING A MORE EXCELLENT WIFE

To this all I can say is Proverb 31:10-31!

I will still be updating the Joyfully Submitted Facebook Page, though not as frequently, so I will see you there.  There was a time not that long ago, when the thought of lower stats and fewer followers was an unwelcome thought, but what good is all of this if the Lord is not my #1 fan? I’m gonna go and spend some time with my daddy!! 😀 Soooooo…..

see-you-soon

see_you_soon[1]

02 See You Soon

We are linking up @ Women Living Well for Link Up Wednesdays!!!
We are linking up @ Women Living Well for Link Up Wednesdays!!!
5 thoughts on “A Blogging Vacation (Getting Away to Spend Some Time With the Lord)

    peacefulwife said:
    January 29, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    You are a wise woman! 🙂 I know God will richly bless this time!

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      January 29, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      I remember telling you that I ‘unbalance’ easily!!! It was the truth…time to get back in balance…there are so many dangers (as we saw with Israel) in remaining unbalanced!!! Continue to include me on prayer requests, but I will have even more limited time on the computer as well during this time…REALLY need to hear from Him!!! Love you and praying for you and ALL that God has given you to do ❤

      Like

        peacefulwife said:
        January 29, 2013 at 7:55 pm

        I completely respect whatever you need to do. 🙂

        Like

    JAja Brown said:
    January 29, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    I can appreciate your yield to the needs of your spirit, needs of your family. I pray you have a rejuvenating time with our Father. It actually works for me, because I can now catch up on the entire blog without the new daily addition of a post. 🙂 AB

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      January 29, 2013 at 10:35 pm

      Now if only every blog that I follow would only do this so I could catch up:-) The great thing about blogs is you can search them and read ona need to know basis…like I am struggling in this area, let’s see what Godly counsel is being offered on this… I am learning to pace myself and use pinterest a lot 🙂 … Sounds like you may enjoy the break as much as me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

