Milestones and Motives!

Posted on

I have been away for a little longer than my original 3 week plan, but I am not upset about it one little bit. My kids were able to fill in for me a little bit, and I was able to step away and accomplish a few of the things I set out to do…just a few.  I shared with my friend, April, over at Peaceful Wife, that I unbalance easily. What I meant by that was that I have to guard my heart really closely…my motives…my plans…my activity…my focus to ensure that idols are not being set up in my life that draw my heart away from the only ONE worthy of my devotion.  I know me! I know what Christ delivered me from! I know what I have been saved and set free from!!! ME MYSELF AND I!!! And if I am not very careful, I will find myself a slave again to MYself, as well as an enemy of Gods. So this was my motivation for taking a break. To search my own heart.  You see, there are so many milestones in my life this year and so many things I am trying to accomplish….and I simply didn’t want to get lost in pursuit of me!!!! I ALWAYS want to be in pursuit of the presence of God!!! I ALWAYS want to be chasing after the life he has for me!!! Do you know what I mean???

Slide01

In a couple of months time, I will be turning 40, my oldest will be turning 18, going to prom two days later, and graduating!! The UNBELIEVABLY rapid passage of time has definitely caused me to re-evaluate how I spend my time!!! Where 20 years ago my focus and motives were completely different (largely focused on me), today they are completely focused on how I can best serve God by serving my family, and how I can help reconcile a generation of women back to the heart of their Creator.  The impending arrival of these overwhelming milestones has truly caused a lot of introspection. I am more aware than ever that I must redeem the time!! So much of it has been wasted!!! And I DO NOT want to waste anymore. If you think that you hear a little desperation in my words, you are wrong!!! Not a little desperation…a LOT of desperation!!! And desperation causes action!! It obliterates all excuses…and has opened my eyes to unacceptable mediocrity, as well as areas in my life where I have settled for producing so much less than what God has called me and created me to produce.  But I joyfully proclaim, “NO MORE”. So, a lot of changes have already taken place, and many more are to come.  One change is that I am resisting the carnal urging to broaden the reach of the blog by spending more time writing posts. There will be time for that, but the time is not now. So I am doing the opposite of what my flesh wants me to do, and I will be writing less :D. I was never an everyday blogger anyway, but I have felt the claws of envy and covetousness scratching at the walls of my heart trying to gain entry, and pushing me to “DO MORE! DO MORE!”. I am smiling as I resist! I will update periodically. If you are like me, you have tons of blogs that you follow and may not even miss this one :D. While Joyfully Submitted is a part of what God has for me to do, it is not all that He has for me to do. I can no longer excuse my attention to one and neglect of all others. So in my attempt to ‘balance’, I am saying a gentle “SEE YOU SOON!”. While I am not going away forever, I am taking an extended break to get some things in order…mainly my motives…and to face some things head on…mainly my milestones…and to finish some writing projects that I claim to have no time to complete.  My life is turning into quite an adventure! And I do not want to miss one moment! And I know that you don’t want me to miss one moment either! ❤ So with that said…

“Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time,

because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

Ephesians 5:15-17 NASV

I will see you soon!

❤ Selena

4 thoughts on “Milestones and Motives!

    Rachel Self said:
    March 12, 2013 at 9:17 am

    I do miss your posts, but I’m glad to have you as one of my Godly examples who follows God first and “redeems the time” in her service toward Him. 🙂 You’re such a blessing!

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      March 12, 2013 at 9:33 am

      LOL…I miss my posts 🙂 …. And I know this is not forever due to the tons of drafts God placed on my heart that have not been published…so you will see me soon 🙂 Thanks for your words of encouragement!!

      Like

    peacefulwife said:
    March 13, 2013 at 8:54 am

    I love you, Selena! And I totally understand what you are doing and why and I support you 100% and can’t wait to see all that God has planned for you. Sending the BIGGEST hugs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

