Jesus and Raising Red Onions From the Dead

Posted on Updated on

Ok, so I have one million and 50 billion things going on right now!!! 🙂 In addition to turning 40 in 3 weeks , my oldest turning 18 next week, as well as graduating and going to prom, operating a business from home, blogging, finishing several books and looking to be published before my 40th, homeschooling, and the list goes on and on, can you believe that I have the audacity to add ANYTHING to this list??? Well in the midst of all of this, I have managed to develop an absolute love for gardening!!! And when I say love, I mean LOVE, as in encouraging my husband to stay awake when he comes to bed so that he can watch the latest video I have found on making compost tea!!!!! LAUGH. OUT. LOUD.

So, among the tons of posts I am working on (Series of Video Blogs on the Health Benefits of Vemma, Series on Raising Godly Children While Living in Modern Day Sodom and Gomorrah, Faith and Freedom at 40!, etc), I decided to throw in a quick series on some gardening fun…and failure!!! These will be quick posts as in they will be shorter than my usual ones, and they will have more images (I take pics of almost everything!!!), but I hope you will find them beneficial.

My heart here, on this blog, is to develop a voice that communicates across cultural, ethnic, and socio-economic boundaries and goes straight to the heart! I want the readers here to walk away with a growing understanding and appreciation of the fact that God speaks to us through His Word, through and in our marriages, through failures and our successes, through nature….The Bible is a book that details for us the authentic historical accounts of Gods relationships with his children and their faith in Him. So what does that have to do with gardening??? Everything!!!!

John 15:1-8

“I am the true grapevine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch of mine that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more. You have already been pruned and purified by the message I have given you. Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me.

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.  Anyone who does not remain in me is thrown away like a useless branch and withers. Such branches are gathered into a pile to be burned. But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted! When you produce much fruit, you are my true disciples. This brings great glory to my Father. 

~~~~~

Did you get that!?!?!?! Jesus is the TRUE VINE and God is THE GARDENER!!! In gardening, we see God!!! The first time we see God digging in dirt to grow or cultivate anything was in Genesis 2:7-9a

Then the Lord God formed the man from the dust of the ground. He breathed the breath of life into the man’s nostrils, and the man became a living person.Then the Lord God planted a garden in Eden in the east, and there he placed the man he had made. The Lord God made all sorts of trees grow up from the ground—trees that were beautiful and that produced delicious fruit.

We can look at our own lives and see the living proof that Jesus makes ALL things, and that he makes ALL things new.

Colossians 1:15-16 says it this way…

“Christ is the visible image of the invisible God.
    He existed before anything was created and is supreme over all creation,
for through him God created everything
    in the heavenly realms and on earth.
He made the things we can see
    and the things we can’t see—
such as thrones, kingdoms, rulers, and authorities in the unseen world. Everything was created through him and for him.”

~~~~~

And in the words of famous playright, George Bernard Shaw,

The best place to seek God is in a garden.  You can dig for him there. 

 The Adventures of the Black Girl in Her Search for God, 1932

So, my first gardening post reveals what happened when I purchased a BUNCH of Red Onions from Walmart that appeared to be dead. The picture below depicts the onions after a couple of days. Days 1-3 the entire bunch was red at the root, but the shoots were brown and dried out COMPLETELY!!!   And I thought to myself, “Why did I waste our money? I should have just bought seeds and planted them!” But Water Works Miracles!!!! Because I had been growing green onions in jars for a few months now, I thought to myself that maybe these could be revived if I simply placed them in water. And look at what began to happen!!!! Green shoots began to grow up out of the dry, dead shoots!!! So, here is what you do.

wpid-20130508_202717.jpg

 When you purchase green or red onions, put them in a jar of water (they will last longer, and continue to grow!!) These are sitting in jam jars 😀

wpid-20130508_204429.jpg

Every couple of days, dump the water and rinse the jar out. These were in such bad shape, that I placed them in a strainer in the sink and RINSED them for a few minutes before….wpid-20130508_204306.jpg

I began to peel the dead outer skin off . This felt slimy and gross, much like our sin does to the Lord as he cleans and restores our lives that were once dead but have now found life in Him…

wpid-20130508_210036.jpg

This is what they looked like when I went to bed last night! The brown has been cut away, for the most part, and the roots have been washed clean of slime and stinky stuff!

wpid-20130508_183034.jpg

The red ones will be planted just like the green ones I have growing already in a ceramic pot outside! Water well, and they will rise towards the Sun, in the same way that when our lives are immersed in the Living Water, we continue to rise towards the Son!

My next gardening post will be on the joys and simplicity of container gardening, and the joys and simplicity of living according to God’s boundaries! I will see you then!!!

2 thoughts on “Jesus and Raising Red Onions From the Dead

    Rachel Self said:
    May 10, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    I don’t have much time for things like this right now (or even a yard/porch to put them on) but as soon as Lane graduates in December I hope we get a place with some outside space! I’d love to do things like this!

    And the fact that he’s a landscaper means that he LOVES planting things! He’ll love doing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

