10 Things I am Thankful for Upon Turning 40

Posted on Updated on

Slide1

Today is my 40th Birthday! (Tomorrow by the time you read this) It was not the day I dreamed of. It was not the day I expected or would have planned for myself. It was soooooo much better!!! Let me tell you 10 reasons why 😀

1. I am alive and healthy!!!!!

God is so faithful that he allowed me to see today. It is a BLESSING to have been walking this Earth for 40 years. So many were not even born, or have died before reaching this milestone. But I am still here!!! I am ALIVE!

2. My Husband is alive and healthy!!!!

My father died when I was 25 years old 😦 and I missed him all day! I saw my mother widowed just prior to her 30th wedding anniversary. They were YOUNG!!! It has been 15 years, and everyday I am soooo thankful that my Sweetie is still here with me, but never so much as I am today! As he approaches the age that my father was when he passed (he was only 46 and my Sweetie is 42), I am blessed and highly favored that he is still with me and that his health is good!!!

3. My children are alive and healthy!!!

I have four babies and they are all alive and healthy! I was able to spend the entire day with them, not doing schoolwork and lessons, but celebrating life…my life! God is good…AND he is FAITHFUL!!!

4. I LOVE THE LORD AND AM LOVED BY HIM!!!

In a day and time when so many are lost, where they do not know why they exist or how they came to be, I am sooooo THANKFUL that I was show the way to the Cross and the empty tomb as a young woman!!!! The Joy that I have found in knowing Christ…in being FORGIVEN by the Son of God…in being made a part of the family of God!!!!! …it given me a confidence in Christ that is unshakeable…unbreakable…matchless!!! The love of God fills my senses and my heart and the love for him overflows from within me!!!

5. Our needs are met!!!

The enemy of our souls actually attempted to fill my thoughts with complaints today…with ingratitude!!!! I was awakened with breakfast in bed…made from scratch by my Sweetie and the kids!!! Followed by a family tradition of everyone piling into our bed and presenting made from the heart greeting cards!!!

wpid-20130529_110915.jpg
Card from Kayla (oldest)
Card from Isaiah
Card from Isaiah
wpid-20130529_110926.jpg
Card from Jordan…He drew a copy of a picture we had taken a couple of months ago 😀
wpid-20130529_111004.jpg
Card from Leah! Complete with 40 balloons 😀

Each card was filled with a handwritten letter or message. By the time I was done reading them all I was, of course, in tears! Ukali then presented me with his card AND sang me a song <3! My mother in law took me out to lunch, and I returned home for some down time (and a rest from the 85 degree temps outside), before shopping! Shopping was followed by a home cooked meal with my family working together in the kitchen and me sitting and relaxing on the sofa! What was there to be discontented over??? What was there to lament or to be sad over??? I’ll come back to that!

6. That I am free!!!

It was 20 years ago that the Lord hijacked my life and turned it around!!! Maybe hijacked is a strong visual, but that’s how it felt! I prayed years before and I told the Lord that I was giving my life over to him! But I did not think He would take that literally!!! But He did….and I. AM. THANKFUL!!!! You see, he rescued me from me!! And today I.AM.FREE!!!!! Free from the prison of feminist ideology!!! Free to serve God and man from a heart filled with compassion and the love of Christ!!! Free to love my husband and to submit to his authority without fear!! Free to commit these years of my life to the rearing of my children and FREE to work hard diligently to draw their hearts to Christ!! Free to live and love without fear of what others think!! I.AM.FREE.

7. I am finally a grown up!!!

I can’t explain it, but I FEEL like an adult!! I feel mature and grown up in my thinking and my emotions and attitude. People asked all day if I felt different when I woke up this morning…and my response was ‘NO’. But I do feel different, it’s just did not happen this morning! It has been gradually happening over the last few months and I am just able to put it into words :-P. Today, I looked into the mirror, and thought to myself that I do not FEEL 40 (whatever that feels like), but I feel grown-up! I feel confident…and secure…and focused…ALL AT ONCE!

8. I FEEL loved!!!

My husband has loved me and complimented me and told me that I am beautiful for years..20 to be exact! I even remember one day, before we were married, that my dad was watching the Jerry Springer show and Ukali was visiting me. He overheard a portion of the show, which was about husbands threatening to leave their wives because they had gained weight after having one or more kids, and had not lost the weight! Ukali was horrified and came into the kitchen of my parents home to pledge his love and support of me no matter how my appearance changed over the years!!! He has stood by his promise… through 3 pregnancies, bedrest, bad hair, horrible rash outbreaks due to an unknown allergic reaction, bad breath, extended periods w/o physical intimacy during pregnancies, fake hair, colored hair, cut hair….THROUGH ALL OF IT I.HAVE.BEEN.LOVED!!! and I am just recently able to genuinely believe and receive it FULLY!!!!! And to rest in it…and I am sooo thankful!

9. I can do ALL things through Chris who gives me strength!!!

Really…I can! I can love. I can write. I can encourage. I can walk with young women and disciple them. I can submit to my husband in love and humility. I can educate my children. I can love God with all my heart, all my soul and all my mind!!!! I.CAN!!!

10. I.CAN.FINISH.SOMETHING.I.START!!!!!

Maintaining this blog for a year and a half has worked to dispel the lie of the enemy that has told me that I am a quitter…a failure…a captive to fear! Looking back has worked to help me to look forward!!! Not only am I following through with this blog, I am wrapping up several writing projects and they will be published this year!! Praise God!!! Gone are the fears of a 9-year-old little girl who received rejection letters from publishing companies that served to crush her spirit and paralyze her. 31 years have gone by since then…those companies have probably been shit down or bought out by now! 😀

Well, that’s it for now!! Of course there is more, but I am going to enjoy the last few minutes of my birthday with my Sweetie! Soon, I will tell you how my 40th birthday was almost ruined by …well, I will tell you that later! Let me just say that I thank God for perspective!!! TTYL

13 thoughts on “10 Things I am Thankful for Upon Turning 40

    Kayla Gulick said:
    May 30, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Happy Belated Birthday Friend!! What a beauitul list. Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

    The Heartbeat of the Home said:
    May 30, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    I am 37 and will be 38 in October. I keep telling my husband that I just don’t feel like a “women” yet. I don’t feel grown up. I still feel like we are still teenagers at times. I think I missed some maturing time lol. He says it’s probably because we got pregnant 1 month after we got married and that right after my son was born, I got sick and life just left me in a standstill. I think it will come now that I am aware of it and I hope to mature into a real women someday 😉

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      May 30, 2013 at 8:09 pm

      I am laughing WITH you!!! We got pregnant 2 months after we were married and by the time we were married 4 years we had 3 babies!!! So I think the kids have helped to keep me young at heart and in the head :P. I am looking forward to checking out your blog 😀

      Like

        The Heartbeat of the Home said:
        May 30, 2013 at 8:20 pm

        I would have had more, but I got sick after our son was born and was not allowed to have anymore without putting my life at risk. I ended up with cervical cancer later on and had to have a hysterectomy. Thankful that we were able to have the one we did 🙂

        Like

          joyfullysubmitted responded:
          May 31, 2013 at 12:49 pm

          What a blessing to have been blessed with one 😀 I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!! the Title DEFINITELY speaks to me as well as your content! I can’t wait to read more of your posts 😀 Thank you so much for connecting!! I may not have found your blog otherwise 😀

          Like

        The Heartbeat of the Home said:
        May 30, 2013 at 8:20 pm

        I would have had more, but I got sick after our son was born and was not allowed to have anymore without putting my life at risk. I ended up with cervical cancer later on and had to have a hysterectomy. Thankful that we were able to have the one we did 🙂

        Like

    blessedx5ks said:
    June 7, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Lovely.
    I don’t know how you feel about awards but your blog always has something that I need to read. So I have nominated you for the One lovely blog award. If you are interested in reading about it you can go to my blog, blessedx5ks.wordpress.com.
    Thank you for your words.

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      June 7, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      I am so glad to hear that you have been blessed by what is written on this blog :D. I appreciate the nomination! Seeing that I have never been nominated or won an award for blogging…my only feeling is one of humble appreciated…thank you.

      Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      June 10, 2013 at 12:32 pm

      As far as what I need to do in response, do I do that immediately or after I hear something? I have no idea 😀

      Like

        blessedx5ks said:
        June 10, 2013 at 1:52 pm

        If you go to the person who nominated me he had a whole description of what, how and when. Just scroll down on his post. It was in response to this same question. U am answering from my phone so I do not have easy access to links, etc. IF you do not get your answer there I will get on the computer and hook you up with the info! Congrats.

        Like

Leave a Reply

