More than JUST Vanilla French Toast!

Posted on Updated on

Believe it or not, I have struggled with cooking breakfast for years!! My journey to becoming Joyfully Submitted had its share of bumps and bruises, and breakfast was one of them!! I knew how to cook, but I did not find joy in it, and as a result, lacked creativity, as well as the desire to find new things, recipes, techniques and flavors. As long as we ate and it was good, I was great! Delicious was not necessarily a goal of mine, or so I thought. But I found myself becoming disappointed or having my ‘feelings hurt’ when I got less than the highest praise for meals that I had put together without much thought.  I put my heart into holiday meals, and meals that would be served to guests…(shaking my head in embarrassment). But my cooking lacked more than mouth-watering flavor! It lacked joy…it lacked heart! Nowhere was this more evident than in the morning…with breakfast. I am truly saddened as I look back and view in retrospect not just the food served, but the heart with which it was served.  I was not horrible, I just was not there…my heart was somewhere else for years!!! And if anyone cared to look, it was evident…in my cooking. Oh I could do your basics…eggs and bacon, cereal and toast, oatmeal from scratch (took some practice), and the meals were good. But the really good stuff (in my opinion…in my families opinion) like pancakes and french toast…I always fell short of, well, delicious! They took too much time! They involved too many ingredients!! Who had time??? Time was not the issue, nor was the number of ingredients in the recipes.  Who knew that a lack of submission to Christ and his plan for my life…for your life…for our lives…would reveal itself  in our approach to meal time…to cooking? The sharing of meals has always been an integral part in the lives of believers since before the church was born. We see our Lord serve the disciples and spend his last night on Earth eating with those closest to him.

And as they were eating, Jesus took bread, and blessed it, and brake it, and gave it to the disciples, and said, Take, eat; this is my body. And he took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them, saying, Drink ye all of it; For this is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins.” Matthew 25:26-28

We see that as the church was growing, food and the joyful sharing of meals was an integral part of that growth….

A deep sense of awe came over them all, and the apostles performed many miraculous signs and wonders. And all the believers met together in one place and shared everything they had. They sold their property and possessions and shared the money with those in need. They worshiped together at the Temple each day, met in homes for the Lord’s Supper, and shared their meals with great joy and generosity all the while praising God and enjoying the goodwill of all the people. And each day the Lord added to their fellowship those who were being saved.”Acts 2:43-47

But I had missed this, of course, because for years my silent, secret focus was on myself. I grieved for a long time and silently refused to let go of the life I planned for myself. I thought that if I looked like the submitted wife on the outside God would let me off of punishment and reward me with my dream life!!! My selfishness caused me to totally miss the glaringly obvious reality that I was living my dream life!! And this one came complete with surround sound and high-definition!!! But all was not lost….and breakfast has been rescued! On my journey I have discovered that as my heart was made new, so were my perspectives and the things I found joy in. And cooking everything, even breakfast from scratch, has become a source of great joy! The recipe below is so much more than JUST Vanilla French Toast! It is a symbol of another area in my heart that has been made new as evidence of my submitted heart. It’s not the vanilla that makes this french toast impossible to resist. It’s the depth of love and care and concern and joy that went into preparing it. It’s not looking at the recipe and thinking there are too many ingredients, but now investigating to find new ones that can be added… I pray that you enjoy making this for your family. Relax. Breath in deeply the aroma of the Vanilla and cinnamon blend. Slow down and taste all of the flavors mixing together in your mouth. Then teach your kids to do the same. You see, it was not just my heart that was filled with joy as I prepared this. It was witnessing that joy transfer to my children and my husband when they ate it…my change of heart positively impacted them! And with HUGE smiles they asked for more!

Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice. Philippians 4:4

This recipe from http://www.allrecipes.com has not only vindicated me in the kitchen, but has served of more evidence of a Joyfully Submitted heart! No longer are my husband and oldest son the only ones who can successfully prepare breakfast foods such as pancakes and french toast from scratch, and have us wanting for more. This recipe, posted in the pic below, is amazing!!! The kids actually had thirds!! Well, the boys did :D.  Just between you and me, I made a few modifications the last 2 times I made these. I added another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as well as 1 tsp nutmeg (which the original recipe did not include). The results were amazing!! The recipe yields 12-18 slices of french toast! Enjoy preparing it!!! Enjoy serving it!!! Enjoy eating it!!!

wpid-20130618_105121.jpg

wpid-20130618_121440.jpg

wpid-20130618_102847.jpg

wpid-20130618_120027.jpg

wpid-20130618_104024.jpg

wpid-20130618_104011.jpg

3 thoughts on “More than JUST Vanilla French Toast!

    LANAEA SNEAD said:
    June 27, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Selena,  Boy, is this a timely challenge for me! I’ve never thought of making breakfast for my family as an act of submission, so I’m going to really have to let this one simmer (pun intended!) 🙂 I have never been a breakfast eater myself, but still knowing that I should because it’s healthier to do so. I’ve gone many, many months at a time without eating breakfast consistently in the past. For so many years my kids were in public school, and because they had to be up so early and we were usually rushed, I never ate breakfast with them, and most days they ate alone, depending on how slowly each of them were moving. Breakfast time has never been a family event!!! Lately though, I’ve been feeling very convicted about not spending that time with my kids AND about how hard it seems for me to make breakfast FOR them instead of letting them fend for themselves. It’s something I really have been wanting to do, but it hasn’t seemed all that earth-shatteringly important, so I haven’t been doing it. But in light of what you’re saying, perhaps I should really be pursuing a major change in our family! Can you share some more thoughts with me about how God impressed upon you the idea of this being a submission issue? Thanks for sharing your heart in this post 🙂 Lanaea

    ________________________________

    Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      June 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

      Lanaea, it really struck me over a period of time. A thought here or a lightbulb there. Recently, I was reading, and re-reading Titus 2 and it caused my heart to shake a little! Here is why… “Similarly, teach the older women to live in a way that honors God. They must not slander others or be heavy drinkers. Instead, they should teach others what is good. These older women must train the younger women to (1)love their husbands and their children, (2)to live wisely and be pure, (3)to work in their homes, (4)to do good, (5)and to be submissive to their husbands. Then they will not bring shame on the word of God. This really struck me…The initial instruction was to teach women to live in a way that honored God…then a list of the characteristics was given. #3 Was where I struggled…I was not consistent at working hard in my home. There were areas where I was simply lazy or uninspired!! And Breakfast was one of them. I wanted to honor God. Point blank. Period! And I did not want to bring shame on the word of God. I hoped that my children, my daughters inparticular, would grow up and find my life worthy of modeling in their pursuit of Godly living. But I did not want them modeling this area. Any area where we are not livng in obedience to God’s word is an area where we lack submission. We tend to look at the area of submission as it pertains to marriage only, but before we can truly, joyfully submit in marriage we must submit to Christ in all things. This was an area that I was falling short. There were others, but this was the initial one brought to my attention by the Holy Spirit…and by submitting here, I was blessed to find joy there….:D It will be challenging breaking the habits, but it will be sooo worth it. Start with the french toast, and grow from there 😀

      Like

      joyfullysubmitted responded:
      July 13, 2013 at 12:49 pm

      Lanaea I replied to this the day you commented…did you see the reply because now I don’t see it???

      Like

Leave a Reply

